Club Awards
There are two awards that our club has for club members, the True Rotarian Award and the Vocational Award.
Past recipients of the True Rotarian Award are:

Brian Arsenault - 2002-03
Dick St. John - 2003-04
Winston Johnston - 2004-05
Myron MacKay - 2005-06
Joan Fleming - 2006-07
Dick St. John - 2007-08
Barry Maze - 2008-09
Bev Simpson - 2009-10
Ann Sherman - 2010-11
Rob DeBlois - 2011-12
John Barrett - 2012-13
James Lovering - 2013-14
David Corrigan - 2014-15
Bev Hood - 2015-16
Lee Forbes & John Furlong - 2016
Susan Carruthers - 2017-18
Past recipients of the Award for Vocational Excellence
Bev Simpson 2001-02
Norman Carruthers 2002-03
Myron Mackay   2003-04
Joanne Ings 2004-05
Winston Johnston 2005-06
Gordon MacInnis 2006-07
Louise MacDonald 2007-08
Tom Wilkinson 2008-09
Dianne Griffin 2009-10
David Morrison  2010-11 
Diane Griffin      2011-12 
Rob DeBlois 2012-13 
Wade Lynch 2013-14 
Barry Maze 2014-15
Bob Gray 2015-16 
Patricia Diaz 2016-17

True Rotarian Award

The True Rotarian Award

2018 Recipient - Rotarian Tom Wilkinson
The True Rotarian Award is presented to a Rotarian who demonstrates through his/her Rotary and community life that he/she lives by the four-way test and provides 'Service Above Self'.
The recipient is chosen by the Board of Directors in each club in District 7820 and is presented by the District Governor during his/her visit to the club. The “True Rotarian” has a Rotary attitude. This is a person who conducts him/herself following the 4-way Test at all times, who is humble, does not flatter wealth or boast of his/her own possessions or achievements. This Rotarian speaks with frankness yet always with sincerity and sympathy. After having communicated his/her differences, he/she supports the activities of others even if the direction may not parallel with their thinking.
Deeds follow words, and this Rotarian thinks of the rights and feelings of others. This Rotarian always appears well in any company and is a person whose honour is sacred.
The “True Rotarian” is the foundation of Rotary – always there, contributing to the current Rotary activity and by any Rotarian’s measure, is the life blood of Rotary.
Tom Wilkinson was the charter president of the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty and is a Past District Governor of Rotary District 7820.
The 2018-19 True Rotarian Award was presented to Tom Wilkinson by District Governor Rob Christie.
Vocational Award

The Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty's

Harry MacLauchlan Award for Vocational Excellence

Each year, a fellow Rotarian is chosen to receive the Harry MacLauchlan Award for Vocational Excellence based on the following criteria;
  • Considers their vocation an opportunity to serve- Adheres and promotes the highest ethical standards in their occupation
  • Contributes their vocational talents to addressing the needs of the community- Offers his or her talents for young people
  • Improves the quality of life in their community
  • Abides by the principles of the Rotary 4-Way Test in their daily business dealings
The recipient of the Harry MacLauchlan Award for Vocational Excellence for 2017-18 is Glenn Trueman.
Glenn grew up in a small farming community in NS at the time when residents formed a close-knit family and events focused around the local church and making the community a better place to live. It was here while participating in church youth groups and the 4-H movement that Glenn says gave him the foundation and principles of "giving back" that he continues to share today. 
     He began working for CIBC in 1974 and focused on career, becoming a Manager first in 1987.  It was in 1997 while working in Greenwood NS that he first joined Rotary and became involved in the Club's community activities.  While in Greenwood he was asked to serve on the board for SOS Children's Village which he thoroughly enjoyed.
     He transferred to Bathurst NB in 1998 and joined the Bathurst Rotary Club where he continued to be an active participant.  In 2003, while discussing the need for fundraising he proposed the development of a "Radio Auction" and took the lead in developing the concept to the first airing of this fundraiser in 2003 which saw $10,000 raised for club activities.  For this, the Bathurst club recognized him with a Paul Harris Fellowship and this annual fundraiser continues to this day, now having raised approximately $130,000, leaving his lasting legacy with that club.  In 2005 he transferred to Charlottetown and joined the Royalty club where he is an active member, particularly on our Supplement Committee.  Without the support of his vocation, his impact would not have been felt through Rotary in the communities where he has lived and worked.
     Holding high ethical standards in Banking is extremely important and this aspect was ingrained in him as foundational, until 1987 when he was first appointed Branch Manager in Parrsboro NS.  CIBC placed their confidence in him and his abilities and his career has continued to grow, with him being promoted to various branch management roles, where he provided management to two and three branches at a time.  Glenn made a commitment to CIBC and was rewarded with their further confidence in him by appointing him Manager here in Charlottetown in 2005 and as we all know, he has made a distinct impact on our community through his work in Rotary and the CIBC Run for the Cure.
     He prides himself in living up to his family name.